NATIONAL PARK AUTHORITY (Annual General Meeting)

15 June 2022

Present (In Person)

Councillor Mrs D Clements (Deputy Chair in the Chair) Councillor Steve Alderman, Mrs J James, Councillor M James, Councillor R Jordan, Mr GA Jones, Councillor P Kidney, Councillor PJ Morgan, Councillor R Owens, Councillor Mrs S Skyrme-Blackhall, Councillor Mrs M Wiggins, Councillor A Wilcox and Councillor C Williams.

Present (Remotely)

Dr M Havard, Dr R Heath-Davies, Councillor Dr SL Hancock, Mrs S Hoss and Dr RM Plummer

(NPA Offices, Llanion Park, Pembroke Dock and Remotely: 10.00a.m. – 10.45a.m.)

1. Election of Chair

The Deputy Chair reported that following the withdrawal of Councillor P Morgan, only one nomination remained for the office of Chair; Councillor Mrs D Clements.

It was **UNANIMOUSLY RESOLVED** that Councillor Mrs D Clements be elected Chair for the ensuing year.

2. Chairman's thanks and welcome

Councillor Clements thanked Members for electing her as Chair of the Authority, which she considered to be a huge honour and responsibility. However she would fulfil the role with dedication and commitment. She wished to thank the previous Chair, Councillor P Harries who had supported her in her role as Deputy Chair and given her confidence. The Chair also wished to welcome the new County Council appointed Members who had joined the Authority, noting that they were enthusiastic and committed and would inject new energy to the Authority to take on the challenges ahead.

3. Election of Deputy Chair

The Chair reported that two nominations had been received for the office of Deputy Chair; Councillor P Morgan and Dr R Heath-Davies.

Following a secret ballot, it was **RESOLVED** that Dr R Heath-Davies be elected Deputy Chair for the ensuing year.



4. Apologies

There were no apologies for absence.

5. Disclosures of interest

No disclosures of interest were received.

6. Membership of Committees and External Organisations

Before presenting her report to Members, the Administration and Democratic Services Manager congratulated Councillor Mrs Clements and Dr Heath-Davies on their election as the Authority's Chair and Deputy Chair respectively. She looked forward to working more closely with them both during their term of office.

Turning to her report, she reminded Members that it was customary at the Annual General Meeting to review the membership of the Authority's Committees and Groups, together with the Authority's Member representation on outside bodies. Due to the appointment of new Members on the Authority, preferences had been sought from all Members and the responses were reflected in the appendix to her report; current vacancies were also highlighted.

She added that the Investigating and Disciplinary Committee, Grievance Committee and Appeals Committee were not included in her report as their composition would be confirmed at the next meeting of the Authority when the Chairs of the Committees which comprised their membership would, by then, be known.

Mr G Jones had asked to serve on the Operational Review Committee, rather than the Audit and Corporate Services Review Committee, however as none of the Welsh Government Members were willing to swap with him, he withdrew his request. It was noted that it was possible for Members to switch Committees at any time, as long as they informed the Democratic Services Manager.

It was RESOLVED:

(a) that the following membership of the National Park Authority, its Committees and Groups be agreed:

NATIONAL PARK AUTHORITY

All Members

DEVELOPMENT MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE All Members



AUDIT AND CORPORATE SERVICES REVIEW COMMITTEE (6 PCC, 3 WG)

Councillor S Alderman Councillor Mrs D Clements Councillor M James Councillor P Kidney Councillor R Owens Councillor S Skyrme-Blackhall

Dr R Heath-Davies Mrs S Hoss Mr GA Jones

OPERATIONAL REVIEW COMMITTEE (6 PCC; 3 WG)

Councillor Dr SL Hancock Councillor R Jordan Councillor PJ Morgan Councillor M Wiggins Councillor A Wilcox Councillor C Williams Dr M Havard Mrs J James Dr RM Plummer

HR COMMITTEE (6 PCC; 3 WG)

Councillor Mrs D Clements Councillor Dr SL Hancock Councillor M James Councillor R Jordan Councillor PJ Morgan Councillor A Wilcox Dr R Heath-Davies Mrs J James Mr GA Jones

EMPLOYEE FORUM (4 PCC; 2 WG)

Councillor P Kidney Councillor R Owens Councillor A Wilcox Councillor C Williams Mrs S Hoss Dr RM Plummer

CONTINUOUS IMPROVEMENT GROUP (4 Members)

Chair, National Park Authority Chair, Audit and Corporate Services Review Committee Chair, Operational Review Committee Chair, Development Management Committee

MEMBER SUPPORT AND DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE (9 Members)

Councillor Mrs D Clements Councillor M James Councillor P Kidney Councillor S Skyrme-Blackhall Councillor A Wilcox Councillor M Wiggins Mrs S Hoss Mrs J James Dr RM Plummer



Pembrokeshire Coast National Park Authority Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the National Park Authority – 15 June 2022

SDF COMMITTEE (4 PCC; 2 WG)

Councillor S Alderman Councillor Dr SL Hancock Councillor M James Councillor S Skyrme-Blackhall Dr M Havard Dr RM Plummer

STANDARDS COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS PANEL

Chair and Deputy Chair, National Park Authority Chair, Audit and Corporate Services Review Committee Councillor S Alderman One lay Member

STANDARDS COMMITTEE (2 PCC; 1 WG plus four Independent

Members) Councillor Dr SL Hancock Dr RM Plummer Councillor M James

Mr J Daniels Mr P Davies Ms W Taylor Mrs V Tomlinson

YOUTH COMMITTEE (1 Member representative)

Mrs S Hoss

Councillor R Jordan Councillor S Skyrme-Blackhall *(Substitutes)*

VOLUNTEER FORUM (1 Member representative)

Councillor M James

Councillor S Skyrme-Blackhall (Substitute)

(b) that the following representation on external organisations for 2022/23 be approved:

NATIONAL PARKS UK EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Chair, National Park Authority

Deputy Chair, National Park Authority *(Substitute)*

NATIONAL PARKS WALES

Chair and Deputy Chair, National Park Authority

WELSH LOCAL GOVERNMENT ASSOCIATION

COUNCIL

Councillor M James

Chair, National Park Authority (Substitute)



Pembrokeshire Coast National Park Authority Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the National Park Authority – 15 June 2022

EXECUTIVE BOARD

Chair, National Parks Wales

JOINT COUNCIL FOR WALES

Councillor S Alderman

Councillor R Owens (Substitute)

WG PARTNERSHIP COUNCIL FOR WALES

Chair, National Parks Wales

CAMPAIGN FOR NATIONAL PARKS (One Member)

Parks Wales

Representative from National Dr M Havard (Contact Member)

ALLIANCE FOR NATIONAL PARKS (One Member) Dr M Havard

NATIONAL COASTAL FORUM (FORMERLY CARDIGAN BAY GROUP/ADVISORY GROUP)

Councillor M James

Dr M Havard (Substitute)

PORT OF MILFORD HAVEN ADVISORY COMMITTEE (One Member plus Substitute) Councillor R Owens Councillor R Jordan (Substitute)

PEMBROKESHIRE LOCAL ACCESS FORUM (One Member) Councillor S Skyrme-Blackhall

SAUNDERSFOOT HARBOUR ADVISORY COMMITTEE (One Member) Councillor C Williams

PEMBROKESHIRE COLLEGE ADVISORY FORUM Councillor R Jordan

PEMBROKESHIRE COAST NATIONAL PARK TRUST (Two Members) Dr M Havard **Councillor M Wiggins**

SKOMER MARINE CONSERVATION ZONE ADVISORY GROUP (One

Member) Councillor P Morgan

VISIT PEMBROKESHIRE

Councillor Mrs D Clements



(c) that the composition of the Investigating and Disciplinary Committee, Grievance Committee and Appeals Committee be confirmed at the next meeting once all the Chairs/Deputy Chairs of the various component Committees had been elected.

