National Park Authority (Extraordinary Meeting)

06 October 2023

Present

Councillor D Clements (Chair)

Dr M Havard, Dr R Heath-Davies, Mrs J James, Councillor R Jordan, Dr RM Plummer and Councillor S Skyrme-Blackhall.

Also in attendance:

Tegryn Jones (Chief Executive), Joy Arkley (HR Manager), Caroline Llewellyn (Democratic Services Manager) and Georgia Jones (Democratic Services Officer).

[Remote meeting 10.00am – 10:20am]

1. Apologies

Apologies for absence were received from Councillor S Alderman, Councillor S Hancock, Mrs S Hoss, Councillor M James, Mr G A Jones, Councillor P Morgan, Councillor R Owens, Councillor B Price, Councillor M Wiggins, Councillor A Wilcox and Councillor C Williams.

2. Disclosures of Interest

Mrs J James disclosed a personal interest in the appointment of the Head of Finance (Section 151 Officer) and Fundraising.

3. Exclusion of the Public

It was RESOLVED that the public be excluded from the meeting in accordance with paragraph 8.8 of Standing Orders, which related to Motions affecting Officers, as exempt information, as defined in Part 4 of section 100A to the Local Government Act 1972, would be disclosed.

4. The appointment of the Head of Finance (Section 151 Officer) and Fundraising

The Chief Executive and HR Manager provided Members with a brief overview of the recruitment process and of the candidate proposed for appointment. The Chief Executive reminded them that the Human Resources Committee had interviewed for the post on the 4th October 2023 and had recommended that Catrin Evans be appointed. Members were in agreement with the recommendation put forward and a discussion ensued regarding the suitability of the candidate.

The Chief Executive explained that should Ms Evans be appointed, she would need to renew her membership with the relevant professional body in order to comply with the requirements for a S151 Officer and added



that the existing S151 Officer would continue in his role until the new officer was in a position to assume this function.

On the proposal of Councillor D Clements, Seconded by Councillor R Jordan, it was RESOLVED that Catrin Evans be appointed as the Head of Finance (Section 151 Officer) and Fundraising.

