NATIONAL PARK AUTHORITY (Annual General Meeting)

17th June 2015

Present: Mr D Ellis, Councillor ML Evans, Ms C Gwyther, Councillor P Harries, Mrs G Hayward, Councillors ST Hudson, Mrs L Jenkins, RM Lewis, PJ Morgan, R Owens and DWM Rees; Mrs M Thomas and Councillor M Williams.

[Councillor M James and Mr AE Sangster joined the meeting following consideration of Item 2 below and Councillor James took over the chair from Councillor M Williams for the remainder of the meeting]

(NPA Offices, Llanion Park, Pembroke Dock: 10.00a.m. – 10.25a.m.)

1. Appointment of Chair for the Item to Appoint a Chair for the ensuing year As neither Councillor James nor Mr Sangster were present at the start of the meeting, it was **RESOLVED** that Councillor M Williams be appointed Chair for the duration.

2. Appointment of Chair

It was reported that two nominations had been received for the office of Chair – Councillor M James and Mr AE Sangster.

The matter was put to the vote and, following a secret ballot, it was **RESOLVED** that Councillor M James be appointed Chair for the ensuing year.

[Councillor M James and Mr AE Sangster joined the meeting at this juncture and Councillor M Williams vacated the Chair in order that Councillor M James could preside over the remainder of the meeting.]

3. Appointment of Deputy Chair

It was reported that one nomination had been received for the office of Deputy Chair.

It was **UNANIMOUSLY RESOLVED** that Mr D Ellis be appointed Deputy Chair for the ensuing year.

4. Chairman's thanks

The Chairman thanked Members for re-electing him to the office of the Chair, which he considered to be a privilege and an honour. He also wished to thank Mr Sangster for his support as Deputy Chair during the previous year.



5. Apologies

Apologies for absence were received from Mr A Archer, Councillor B Kilmister and Councillor A Wilcox.

6. Disclosures of interest

No disclosures of interest were received.

7. Membership of Committees and External Organisations

It was reported that it was customary at the Annual General Meeting to review the membership of the Authority's Committees and Groups, together with the Authority's Member representation on outside bodies. Current vacancies were highlighted in the report before Members that day.

It was noted that the South West Wales Regional Tourism Partnership and Wales Spatial Plan (Ministerial Group) had come to an end and there was therefore no need to elect representatives to these bodies.

The Administration and Democratic Services Manager went on to note that the composition of the Investigating and Disciplinary Committee, Grievance Committee and Appeals Committee would be confirmed at the next meeting of the Authority when the Chairs of the Committees which comprised their membership would be known.

It was **RESOLVED**:

(a) that the following membership of the National Park Authority, its Committees and Groups be agreed:

NATIONAL PARK AUTHORITY

All Members

DEVELOPMENT MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE

All Members

AUDIT AND CORPORATE SERVICES REVIEW COMMITTEE (6 PCC, 3

WG)

Councillor M James
Councillor L Jenkins
Councillor RM Lewis

Councillor R Owens Councillor DWM Rees Councillor M Williams Mr A Archer Mrs G Hayward Mr D Ellis



OPERATIONAL REVIEW COMMITTEE (6 PCC; 3 WG)

Councillor ML Evans Ms C Gwyther
Councillor P Harries Mr AE Sangster
Councillor ST Hudson Mrs M Thomas

Councillor R Kilmister Councillor PJ Morgan Councillor A Wilcox

PERSONNEL COMMITTEE (6 PCC; 3 WG)

Councillor ML Evans Mr A Archer
Councillor M James Mrs G Hayward
Councillor L Jenkins Mr AE Sangster

Councillor ST Hudson Councillor PJ Morgan Councillor DWM Rees

EMPLOYEE FORUM (4 PCC; 2 WG)

Councillor P Harries Mr D Ellis
Councillor RM Lewis Ms C Gwyther

Councillor R Owens Councillor M Williams

MEMBER DEVELOPMENT STRATEGY WORKING GROUP (3

Members)

Mr A Archer Ms C Gwyther

Councillor M James

STANDARDS COMMITTEE (2 PCC: 1 WG plus three Independent

Members)

Councillor M James Mrs G Hayward Mr R Barrett-Evans

Councillor R Kilmister Mr J Evans Vacancy

SDF COMMITTEE (4 PCC; 2 WG)

Councillor Mrs L Jenkins Mr AE Sangster
Councillor RM Lewis Mrs M Thomas

Councillor DWM Rees Councillor M Williams

STANDARDS COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS PANEL

Chairman and Deputy Chairman of the Authority
Chairman of the Audit and Corporate Services Review Committee
Councillor M Williams
One lay Member



CAREW CASTLE STAKEHOLDER GROUP (2 Members)

Chair of the Authority Councillor RM Lewis

CASTELL HENLLYS STAKEHOLDER GROUP (2 Members)

Chair of the Authority Councillor P Harries

TYCANOL WOODLAND ADVISORY GROUP (2 Members)

Councillor P Harries Council

Councillor R Kilmister

NOTE:

The Chair and Deputy Chair of the Authority are ex-officio Members of all Committees, Groups, etc. The immediate past Chair is also regarded in this capacity for a period of one year only after vacating the office of Chair.

(b) that the following representation on external organisations for 2015/16 be approved:

ASSOCIATION OF NATIONAL PARK AUTHORITIES EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Chair of the Authority (Substitute: Deputy Chair of the Authority)

NATIONAL PARKS WALES

Chair and Deputy Chair of the Authority

WELSH LOCAL GOVERNMENT ASSOCIATION COUNCIL

Chair of National Parks Wales

CO-ORDINATING COMMITTEE

Chair of the Authority (Substitute: Deputy Chair of the Authority)

JOINT COUNCIL FOR WALES

Councillor M Williams (Substitute: Councillor R Owens)

CAMPAIGN FOR NATIONAL PARKS (One Member)

Mrs G Hayward

ALLIANCE FOR NATIONAL PARKS (One Member)

Mrs G Hayward

CARDIGAN BAY ADVISORY GROUP

Councillor P Harries (Substitute: Deputy Chair of the Authority)



CARDIGAN COASTAL GROUP

Councillor M James

MILFORD HAVEN PORT AUTHORITY ADVISORY COMMITTEE (One

Member plus Substitute)

Mr AE Sangster Councillor RM Lewis (Substitute)

PEMBROKESHIRE LOCAL ACCESS FORUM (One Member)

Councillor P Harries

SOUTH WEST WALES AREA ENVIRONMENT GROUP (EA WALES)

(One Member plus Substitute)

Councillor RM Lewis Councillor M James

SOUTH WEST WALES REGIONAL AGGREGATES WORKING PARTY – REGIONAL TECHNICAL STATEMENT MEMBER FORUM (One

Member plus Substitute)

Mr A Archer Councillor RM Lewis (Substitute)

(c) that the composition of the Investigating and Disciplinary Committee, Grievance Committee and Appeals Committee be confirmed at the next meeting.

