NATIONAL PARK AUTHORITY (Annual General Meeting)

15th June 2016

Present: Mr D Ellis (Deputy Chair, in the Chair)

Councillor ML Evans, Councillor P Harries, Mrs G Hayward, Councillors ST Hudson, Mrs L Jenkins, R Kilmister, RM Lewis, PJ Morgan and R Owens; Mrs M Thomas, Councillor A Wilcox and Councillor M Williams.

[Councillor M James and Mr AE Sangster joined the meeting following consideration of Item 1 below and Councillor James took over the chair from Mr D Ellis for the remainder of the meeting.]

(NPA Offices, Llanion Park, Pembroke Dock: 10.00a.m. – 10.15a.m.)

1. Appointment of Chair

It was reported that two nominations had been received for the office of Chair – Councillor M James and Mr AE Sangster.

The matter was put to the vote and, following a secret ballot, it was **RESOLVED** that Councillor M James be appointed Chair for the ensuing year.

[Councillor M James and Mr AE Sangster joined the meeting at this juncture and Mr D Ellis vacated the Chair in order that Councillor M James could preside over the remainder of the meeting.]

2. Chairman's thanks

The Chairman thanked Members for re-electing him to the office of the Chair, which he considered to be a privilege and an honour.

3. Appointment of Deputy Chair

It was reported that one nomination had been received for the office of Deputy Chair.

It was **UNANIMOUSLY RESOLVED** that Mrs G Hayward be appointed Deputy Chair for the ensuing year.

4. Apologies

Apologies for absence were received from Mr A Archer, Ms C Gwyther and Councillor DWM Rees.

5. Disclosures of interest

No disclosures of interest were received.



6. Membership of Committees and External Organisations

Congratulating the Chair and Deputy on their appointments, the Administration and Democratic Services Manager reported that it was customary at the Annual General Meeting to review the membership of the Authority's Committees and Groups, together with the Authority's Member representation on outside bodies. There were no vacancies highlighted, however it was noted that confirmation was required for Councillor R Kilmister to serve a second four year term on the Authority's Standards Committee. This was agreed. She also noted that the composition of the Investigating and Disciplinary Committee, Grievance Committee and Appeals Committee would be confirmed at the next meeting of the Authority when the Chairs of the Committees which comprised their membership would be known.

With regard to the appendix relating to Representation on External Organisations, there were two corrections. Firstly the extract provided related to 2015-16, not 2014-15 and secondly the Association of National Park Authorities was now known as National Parks UK.

Mrs G Hayward asked whether anyone else would like to represent the Authority on the Alliance for National Parks Cymru, and Mr D Ellis agreed to do so.

It was **RESOLVED**:

(a) that the following membership of the National Park Authority, its Committees and Groups be agreed:

NATIONAL PARK AUTHORITY

All Members

DEVELOPMENT MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE

All Members

AUDIT AND CORPORATE SERVICES REVIEW COMMITTEE (6 PCC, 3

WG)

Councillor M James
Councillor L Jenkins
Councillor RM Lewis

Councillor R Owens Councillor DWM Rees Councillor M Williams Mr A Archer Mrs G Hayward Mr D Ellis



OPERATIONAL REVIEW COMMITTEE (6 PCC; 3 WG)

Councillor ML Evans Ms C Gwyther Councillor P Harries Mr AE Sangster Councillor ST Hudson Mrs M Thomas

Councillor R Kilmister Councillor PJ Morgan Councillor A Wilcox

PERSONNEL COMMITTEE (6 PCC; 3 WG)

Councillor ML Evans Mr A Archer
Councillor ST Hudson Mrs G Hayward
Councillor M James Mr AE Sangster

Councillor L Jenkins Councillor PJ Morgan Councillor DWM Rees

EMPLOYEE FORUM (4 PCC; 2 WG)

Councillor P Harries Mr D Ellis
Councillor RM Lewis Ms C Gwyther

Councillor R Owens Councillor M Williams

CONTINUOUS IMPROVEMENT GROUP (4 Members)

Chair, National Park Authority

Chair, Audit and Corporate Services Review Committee

Chair, Operational Review Committee

Chair, Development Management Committee

MEMBER DEVELOPMENT STRATEGY WORKING GROUP (3

Members)

Mr A Archer Ms C Gwyther

Councillor M James

STANDARDS COMMITTEE (2 PCC; 1 WG plus three Independent

Members)

Councillor R Kilmister Mrs G Hayward Mr R Barrett-Evans
Councillor R Owens Mrs V Tomlinson
Mrs J Wainwright

SDF COMMITTEE (4 PCC; 2 WG)

Councillor Mrs L Jenkins Mr AE Sangster
Councillor RM Lewis Mrs M Thomas

Councillor DWM Rees Councillor M Williams



STANDARDS COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS PANEL

Chairman and Deputy Chairman of the Authority
Chairman of the Audit and Corporate Services Review Committee
Councillor M Williams
One lay Member

CAREW CASTLE STAKEHOLDER GROUP (2 Members)

Chair of the Authority Councillor RM Lewis

CASTELL HENLLYS STAKEHOLDER GROUP (2 Members)

Chair of the Authority Councillor P Harries

TYCANOL WOODLAND ADVISORY GROUP (2 Members)

Councillor P Harries Councillor R Kilmister

NOTE:

The Chair and Deputy Chair of the Authority are ex-officio Members of all Committees, Groups, etc. The immediate past Chair is also regarded in this capacity for a period of one year only after vacating the office of Chair.

(b) that the following representation on external organisations for 2015/16 be approved:

NATIONAL PARKS UK EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Chair of the Authority (Substitute: Deputy Chair of the Authority)

NATIONAL PARKS WALES

Chair and Deputy Chair of the Authority

WELSH LOCAL GOVERNMENT ASSOCIATION COUNCIL

Chair, National Park Authority (Substitute: Deputy Chair, National Park Authority)

CO-ORDINATING COMMITTEE

Chair, National Parks Wales

JOINT COUNCIL FOR WALES

Councillor M Williams (Substitute: Councillor R Owens)

CAMPAIGN FOR NATIONAL PARKS (One Member)

Mrs G Hayward



ALLIANCE FOR NATIONAL PARKS CYMRU (One Member)

Mr D Ellis

CARDIGAN BAY ADVISORY GROUP

Councillor P Harries (Substitute: Deputy Chair, National Park Authority)

CARDIGAN COASTAL GROUP

Councillor M James

MILFORD HAVEN PORT AUTHORITY ADVISORY COMMITTEE (One

Member plus Substitute)

Mr AE Sangster

Councillor RM Lewis (Substitute)

PEMBROKESHIRE LOCAL ACCESS FORUM (One Member)

Councillor P Harries

SOUTH WEST WALES REGIONAL AGGREGATES WORKING PARTY - REGIONAL TECHNICAL STATEMENT MEMBER FORUM (One

Member plus Substitute)

Mr A Archer

Councillor RM Lewis (Substitute)

PEMBROKESHIRE COLLEGE CONSULTATIVE COMMITTEE

Councillor R Owens

(c) that the composition of the Investigating and Disciplinary Committee, Grievance Committee and Appeals Committee be confirmed at the next meeting.

